The Church of the Discovery of the Holy Cross in Frýdlant and its secrets
Phone: +420 482 312 202
GSM: +420 604 959 823
The Dean’s Church of the Discovery of the Holy Cross in Frýdlant is an increasingly popular tourist attraction. The church is situated on the banks of the Smědá River, not far from T. G. Masaryk Square.
The construction of the church was completed in 1551. The interior of the church includes the tombstones of the last members of the House of Bieberstein, the gravestone of Frederick of Redern and the high renaissance burial chapel of the House of Redern, the most important feature of the church, which is located on the northern side of the presbytery. The marble gravestone of Melchior of Redern, his wife Catherine and their son Christoph can be found inside the chapel. This is a unique sculpture from the workshop of Gerhard Heinrich of Amsterdam. The construction of the gravestone took 5 years and the material used in the sculpture came from Bohemia, Silesia and England.